The Polar Fram Museum (Frammuseet) is a museum telling the story of Norwegian polar exploration. It is located on the peninsula of Bygdøy. Fram Museum is situated in an area with several other museums, including the Kon-Tiki Museum, the Norwegian Museum of Cultural History (Folk Museum), the Viking Ship Museum and the Norwegian Maritime Museum. Bygdøy Royal Estate, the official summer residence of the King of Norway and historic Oscarshall are also located nearby.
The Fram Museum was inaugurated on 20 May 1936. It honours Norwegian polar exploration in general and three great Norwegian polar explorers in particular
Fridtjof Nansen, Otto Sverdrup and Roald Amundsen. The museum also exhibits images of the fauna of the polar regions, such as polar bears and penguins. The Fram Museum is centered principally on the original exploration vessel Fram. The original interior of Fram is intact and visitors can go inside the ship to view it. Fram was commissioned, designed, and built by Scots-Norwegian shipbuilder Colin Archer to specifications provided by Norwegian Arctic explorer Fridtjof Nansen, who financed the building of the ship with a combination of grant monies provided by the Norwegian government and private funding in 1891.
In May 2009 the Norwegian Maritime Museum and the Fram Museum signed an agreement for the Fram Museum to take over the exhibition of the “Gjøa”. Roald Amundsen and a crew of six traversed the Northwest Passage aboard the “Gjøa” in a three year journey which was finished in 1906.